Go to ...


RSS Feed


Central Universities
State Universities
Deemed Universities
Private Universities
University with Potential for Excellence

Institutes of National Importance
List of Institutes of National Importance

Autonomous Science & Technology Institutions
List of Autonomous S&T Institutions

Indian Institutes of Management (IIM)
IIMs are considered India’s premier national institutes providing quality education in management and research. IIMs primarily offer post graduate, doctoral and executive education programmes. The flagship programme of IIM, is the two year post graduate diploma popularly known as Master of Business Administration (MBA). These two year programmes are residential in nature. The Fellow Programme in Management (FPM) is a fulltime doctoral level programme in management and research equivalent to Ph.D degree. The Executive Post Graduate programmes are targeted for working professionals.
Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs)
The Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) are a group of fifteen autonomous prestigious engineering and technology-oriented institutes of higher education established and declared as Institutes of National Importance by the Parliament of India. The IITs were created to train scientists and engineers, with the aim of developing a skilled workforce to support the economic and social development of India after independence in 1947.
Language Universities
India has six Language Universities, out of which three are Deemed-to-be Universities and three are Central Universities. The Deemed-to-be Universities are for promotion of Sanskrit Language and the three Central Universities are, one each, for promotion of English and Foreign Language, Hindi Language and Urdu Language.
Distance Learning
Open and Distance Learning (ODL) system is a system wherein teachers and learners need not necessarily be present either at same place or same time and is flexible in regard to modalities and timing of teaching and learning as also the admission criteria without compromising necessary quality considerations. ODL system of the country consists of Indra Gandhi National Open University(IGNOU), State Open Universities (SOUs), Institutions and Universities offering education and includes Correspondence Course Institutes (CCIs) in conventional dual mode universities.
National Institutes of Technology (NITs)
The National Institutes of Technology (NITs), are esteemed colleges of engineering and technology education in India. They were originally called Regional Engineering Colleges (RECs). In 2002, the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India, decided to upgrade, in phases, all the original 17 Regional Engineering Colleges (RECs) as National Institutes of Technology (NITs).
Indian Institute of Information Technology (IIIT)
IIIT refers to the information technology institutes in India called Indian Institute of Information Technology.