Go to ...


RSS Feed

Science and Technology

Autonomous Science & Technology Institutions
List of Autonomous S&T Institutions

Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research (IISERs)
Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research (IISERs) were created in 2006 through a proclamation of Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India, to promote quality education and research in basic sciences. Soon after the announcement, two of these Institutes at Pune and Kolkata, respectively, were started in 2006. This was followed by an Institute at Mohali (2007) and at Bhopal and Trivandrum in 2008. Each IISER is a degree granting autonomous institution with a prime focus to integrate science education and research, with a motive of attracting bright students and world class faculty.
The Indian Institute of Science (IISc)
The Indian Institute of Science (IISc) was founded in 1909 as a result of the joint efforts of Jamsetji Nusserwanji Tata, the Government of India, and the Maharaja of Mysore. Over the 105 years since its establishment, IISc has become the premier institute for advanced scientific and technological research and education in India.
National Institute of Technical Teachers Training & Research (NITTTR)
In realization of the need for training better quality technicians to meet the large scale industrialization of the country, the ministry of Human Resource Development (the then Ministry of Education), Government of India established four Regional Technical Teachers’ Training Institutes (now National Institute of Technical Teachers Training & Research, NITTTR at Bhopal, Chandigarh, Chennai and Kolkata in 1967. The Institute at Chandigarh is one of these four NITTTRs, started in collaboration with Royal Netherlands Government (upto 1974). It was designed to meet the requirements of developing polytechnic education in the northern region covering the states of Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Haryana, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Uttrakhand, Delhi and Union Territory of Chandigarh.
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR)
The Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai, is an autonomous Research Institute under the Department of Atomic Energy, Government of India. It is also a Deemed University recognized by the University Grants Commission, offering Ph.D., Integrated M.Sc.-Ph.D., and M.Sc. programs in Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Mathematics, Computer Science and Science Education. TIFR main campus is located in Mumbai. It has additional campuses in Pune, Bangalore and Hyderabad.
Indian Institute of Remote Sensing (IIRS)
Indian Institute of Remote Sensing (IIRS), Dehradun, under Indian Space Research Organisation, Department of Space, Govt. of India is a premier Training and Educational Institute set up for developing trained professionals in the field of Remote Sensing, Geoinformatics and GPS Technology for Natural Resources, Environmental and Disaster Management. It offers the following programmes:
M.Sc. In Geo-Information Science And Earth Observation
M.Tech in Remote Sensing and GIS applications
Ph.D. programmes